In order to be employed as a truck driver, a DOT Physical is required by State and Federal law for all CDL applicants.
An applicant myst be at least 21 years of age to operate in interstate commerce or 19 years of age to operate in intrastate commerce at the time of application and must have held a valid driver license for a least one year.
Center for Employment Education
Additional Costs for All Driver Training Courses:
- Department of Transportation (DOT) Physical - Medical Examiners Certificate: Federal Law requires medical provides to be on the National Registry to conduct DOT Medical Exams. To see if your provider is on the registry or to find one that is; you can go to http://nrcme.fmcsa.dot.gov Can be obtained at your own physician office or our preferred provider: Beacon/Worksafe
- Department of Transportation (DOT) Substance Screening
- TSA - Background check/fingerprinting fee - for Hazardous Materials Endorsement on CDL
- Transportation to training
You must be an Alaska resident domiciled in the State a minimum of 30 days and have a clean valid Drivers License for a minimum one year to obtain a CDL.
For driving courses over 80 hours in length, you are required to provide a copy of your Alaska Driver History to be reviewed by the CEE Admissions Coordinator prior to enrollment.
For more information on
Alaska Division of Motor Vehicle rules and requirements go to
Copyright (c) 2007 - 2015 Center for Employment Education, 520 E. 34th Avenue,
Suite 201, Anchorage, AK 99503
Defensive Driving Courses:
Additional Individualized CDL Training, Road Skill Assessments and Preparatory Courses:
These driver training courses are for individuals who want to train one-on-one with an instructor. There is no classroom instruction. An individual must have a current DOT Physical and complete all written tests at DMV, obtain their "IA" or "IB" permit from DMV. CDL permits must be held for 14 days before a road skills test can be performed. These courses are on a schedule only basis. CLICK BELOW ON THE PROGRAM YOU ARE INTERESTED IN FOR MORE DETAILS.
These courses are scheduled throughout the year and can be found on our training schedule when available.
This course extensively guides students through vehicle systems, safety, and hands-on tractor-trailer driver training. Safe operating practices address accident procedures, extreme driving conditions and emergency maneuvers, trip planning, and log books. Students take the road skills test in the same equipment used throughout the course. Also included in this course is training in First Aid/CPR, DOT Regulations (49 CFR 172.704), Defensive Driving, Entry Level Driver (49 CFR 380.503), and forklift use. A certificate is received for each. Each successful student receives a CDL A with double/triple trailer, tank vehicle, and hazardous material (if 21 yrs or older) endorsements, along with a Professional Truck Driver Institute certificate of attainment. Prerequisites: Age 19 intrastate license only, Age 21 interstate license, social security card, DOT physical, DOT drug test, drivers license for a minimum of 1 year, and clean driving record. Tuition: $8,200 includes road test. Fees: $275.00 (includes IA permit, license fee, books, and lab fee)
This course assists an individual in preparing for the written tests at DMV, obtain your permit and then immediately begin the hands-on driver training.
FAST TRACK - CDL A: This is a 3-week, accelerated tractor-trailer driving course with 4 days of classroom training and 11 days behind-the-wheel/vehicle training. Safe driving practices, speed and space management, night operation, entry level driver (49 CFR 380.503), and logbooks are addressed. Students take the road skills test in the same equipment used throughout the course. Upon successful completion, students earn a CDL A. Prerequisites: Age 19, Current Driver License, social security card, DOT physical, DOT drug test, drivers license for a minimum of 1 year, and clean driving record. Tuition: $6,500 includes road test. Fees: $115.00 (includes IA permit, and license fee)
Enrollment: A $500.00 Deposit is required to enroll in the 6-week or 3-week courses. The deposit will be applied to tuition and fees. In the event of cancellation, all fees will be deducted prior to any refund. See CEE Catalog for details. CDL permits must be held for 14 days before a road skills test can be performed.
COMMERCIAL TRUCK DRIVING COURSES:
Our most comprehensive training course for individuals interested in making a career of commercial driving.
BASIC DRIVER TRAINING - CDL A (Anchorage only): This 6-week course is nationally certified by the Professional Truck Driver Institute.